Find answers in our knowledge base
 
Employees
Article

How to Limit the Ways Employees Can Track Their Hours

« Go Back

Article Detail

 
Rich Text Description
Notes:
  • By default, upon account setup, the following tools are installed:
    • Time Clock (for clocking in and out)
    • Timesheet List (for viewing, adding, editing, deleting, and submitting timesheets for approval)
    • Manual Time Card (for adding, editing, deleting, and submitting hours)
    • Time Slider (for adding, editing, deleting, and submitting hours)
 
 

How to:

 
 

How to Allow All Employees to Only Clock In and Out

If you would like for all employees to only clock in and out (vs entering hours worked):

  1. Go to Company Settings.
  2. Click Advanced Time Options > Time Entry tab.
  3. Make sure the Allow employees to manage their own timesheets permission is not selected. If not, deselect it, and click Save.
 
 

How to Allow Individual Employees to Only Clock In and Out

If you would like for individual employees to only clock in and out (vs entering hours worked):

  1. Go to Employees.
  2. To the right of the employee's name, click the pencil icon ().
  3. On the Permissions tab, make sure that Manage my timesheets is not selected. If not, deselect it, and click Save.
 
 

How to Select Which Time Entry Tools are Visible to All Employees

  1. Go to SET UP > Add-ons OR Feature Add-ons > Manage Add-ons.
  2. Scroll down to Time Card Selector.
  3. If Uninstall is displayed, click Install.
  4. In the Time Entry Preferences window, deselect the time entry tools you do not want employees to see.
  5. To close the window, in the upper right corner, click X.
 

Need help? We’re here for you.
Phone
us: +1 (888) 836-2720
au: +1 (800) 989-143
uk: +44 (808) 164-0610
Email
Reply within: 1-4 hours
Have a suggestion?

Was this document helpful?

 
   

Sorry this document wasn’t helpful. How can we improve it?

Characters Remaining 255